The best murder mystery advent calendar for most households in 2026 is Hasbro's CLUE Advent Calendar: Secrets Under Snowfall: 24 doors, about 10 minutes a day, ages 10 and up. For adults who want a pen-and-paper case, choose The Killer Checked In. For a story-led puzzle book, pick Murder by Christmas.
Murder mystery advent calendar — A calendar or puzzle book that releases one clue or puzzle a day from December 1, so that a single whodunit is built up over the countdown and the culprit is named on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day.
We earn a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Commissions never decide which games we pick or their order. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure
At a glance
| Game | Players | Playing time | Age | Difficulty | Format |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CLUE Advent Calendar: Secrets Under Snowfall | 1+ (1–6 listed) | About 10 min a day | 10+ | 3 out of 5 on the publisher's scale | Storybook calendar, 24 doors, one-time play |
| Murder Mystery Advent Calendar: The Killer Checked In | Adults | One clue a day, Dec 1–24 | — | Elimination logic | Puzzle book, 24 doors |
| Murder by Christmas: 25 Days to Solve the Crime | Not stated (a book to solve alone or share) | One puzzle a day, Dec 1–25 | — | — | Paperback puzzle book, 25 puzzles, 224 pages |
| A Murder For Christmas: An Advent Calendar of Logic Puzzles | Adults and teens, one pencil | Two logic puzzles a day, Dec 1–24 | — | Hard, according to the listing | Paperback puzzle book, 48 puzzles, 160 pages |
Our picks
CLUE Advent Calendar: Secrets Under Snowfall
A real calendar with doors, a storybook, a cipher and a crime board, from the publisher of the board game. Each day's puzzle tells you which door to open next, so nobody can skip ahead by accident. It is listed for ages 10 and up, takes about 10 minutes a day and reads as a family whodunit; seasoned solvers may find the daily puzzles direct.
Murder Mystery Advent Calendar: The Killer Checked In
One evidence file a day lets you cross names off a 9,600-record hotel register until a single person remains, and you get one accusation on December 24. It asks for a pen, patience and care rather than craft supplies, so it suits a solo solver or a couple who like elimination logic.
Murder by Christmas: 25 Days to Solve the Crime
A village whodunit from an established puzzle publisher: a clue and a dark secret arrive each day, and 25 puzzles lead to the killer of Mr. Holly. It reads more like a cozy novel than a game board, which makes it easy to share aloud on the sofa. Players and age are not stated by the publisher, so check the sample page.
A Murder For Christmas: An Advent Calendar of Logic Puzzles
Two logic puzzles a day, from Sudoku variants to kakuro, each answer clearing one of 49 suspects. The listing says the puzzles are genuinely hard and meant for adults and teens, with worked solutions at the back. Pick it only if a daily Sudoku-level challenge sounds like a treat rather than a chore.
What is a murder mystery advent calendar?
A murder mystery advent calendar turns the countdown to Christmas into one long case. Each day from December 1 you open a door, turn to a dated page or pull an envelope, and you get a single clue or puzzle. The answers pile up until, on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day, you name the culprit. It differs from an escape room advent calendar in what it asks you to do: an escape room calendar asks “what opens this door?”, while a murder mystery calendar asks “who did it, and how do you know?”
Four formats cover almost everything on sale. A boxed calendar such as Hasbro’s CLUE edition has real doors, a storybook and cards. A register or elimination book such as The Killer Checked In gives you a long list of names to cross out. A story-led puzzle book such as Murder by Christmas wraps each puzzle in a chapter of a village mystery. A logic-puzzle book such as A Murder For Christmas hides the case behind Sudoku-style grids. We picked one of each, so you compare formats rather than four near-identical books.
Which murder mystery advent calendar should you choose?
Pick by who will be at the table. Players, age and reuse figures come from the publisher or the review linked in our sources; where a publisher does not say, the table says so.
| Who is playing | First choice | Why it fits | Runner-up |
|---|---|---|---|
| One adult | The Killer Checked In | Pen-and-paper elimination, no cutting or folding | A Murder For Christmas |
| A couple | Murder by Christmas | A story you can read aloud, one chapter a night | The Killer Checked In |
| A family with teens | CLUE Advent Calendar | Ages 10 and up, doors and cards for everyone to touch | A Murder For Christmas for the logic fans |
| Four friends | CLUE Advent Calendar | Listed for 1 or more players; rotate the door keeper | Murder by Christmas, read aloud |
| A group with a 10-year-old | CLUE Advent Calendar | The only one here with a stated age of 10 and up | None: check ages on the others |
Solo solvers. A solo player wants a calendar that does not need anyone else. The Killer Checked In is written for adults and rewards careful reading: each file lets you strike out a section of a 9,600-person register, there is an optional upside-down checkpoint to catch mistakes, and Door 16 is a mandatory shortlist. For a different kind of solo evening, A Murder For Christmas gives two logic puzzles a day, and its listing warns that they are hard.
Couples. Two people do best with something to share across the evening. Murder by Christmas arrives as a daily clue and a new secret about a villager, so one of you can read the clue while the other keeps the notes.
Families with teens. Hasbro lists the CLUE calendar for ages 10 and up, which covers a table of mixed ages. A teenager who likes puzzles can also take the logic book alone, since its listing describes it as built for adults and teens who have outgrown the easy stuff.
How do the four calendars compare?
| CLUE Advent Calendar | The Killer Checked In | Murder by Christmas | A Murder For Christmas | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Days | 24 doors | 24 doors, plus a sealed Christmas Day reveal | 25 puzzles, December 1 to 25 | 24 days, 48 puzzles |
| Daily time | About 10 min (review) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated; hard puzzles |
| Players | 1+ (1 to 6 per one listing) | Adults, one reader | Not stated | Adults and teens |
| Age | 10+ | Adults | Not stated | Adults and teens |
| Difficulty | 3 out of 5 on the publisher’s scale | Elimination logic | Not stated | Hard, according to the listing |
| Format | Storybook calendar | Puzzle book, 9,600-name register | Paperback, 224 pages | Paperback, 160 pages |
| Play again? | No: fold, cut, write | Not once marked | Not if written in | Not if written in |
| What you add | Pen, scissors on some days | A pen | A pencil | A pencil |
The CLUE calendar is the only one with a verified daily time, a stated age and a publisher difficulty. That is why it leads for most households. The books win on portability and on the kind of reasoning they ask for.
What do you get in the box, or in the book?
CLUE Advent Calendar: Secrets Under Snowfall. Six guests arrive at Tudor Mansion for a winter gala and host Boddy Black ends up dead. The calendar opens like a storybook onto a crime board and a map of the mansion, and the box holds 77 cards, a cipher, six translucent character tokens and a surprise. The daily puzzles are different in style, and each tells you which door to open next. Room Escape Artist notes that the final deduction puzzle, which draws on the whole story, has no hint system, so keep your notes. The tokens can be used with other CLUE games afterwards.
The Killer Checked In. The Kingsmoor Hotel’s owner has been found dead, and the killer is somewhere in a Master Register of 9,600 guests, staff, artists, vendors and technicians. Every day gives an evidence file and a task. You get one accusation on December 24, and a sealed reconstruction waits behind Door 25. It needs no app and no dice.
Murder by Christmas. In the village of Candlestow, Mr. Holly is found dead at a rehearsal for the annual Christmas play. You work alongside a local detective while a clue arrives each day and reveals a dark secret about a villager. Twenty-five puzzles lead to the killer.
A Murder For Christmas. A man is found on the ice rink before a Christmas market opens, and 49 people stay to run their stalls. Each day you solve two logic puzzles and the answer gives a number to cross out on a suspect plate. After 24 days, one suspect is left. Solutions are worked through at the back of the book.
When should you start, and what if you begin late?
Open the first door on December 1. If you are late, you do not lose the case, because none of these stories depends on the date. You only need to catch up. A calendar of 24 doors started on December N leaves you 25 minus N evenings, so the doors per day follow from simple division. The minutes below assume the 10-minute average Room Escape Artist gives for the CLUE calendar; the books state no daily time, so plan more.
| You start on | Evenings left | Doors a day to finish by December 24 | CLUE calendar, minutes a night |
|---|---|---|---|
| December 1 | 24 | 1 | About 10 |
| December 5 | 20 | 1, doubling up on 4 nights | About 10 to 20 |
| December 10 | 15 | About 2 on most nights | About 16 |
| December 15 | 10 | 2 to 3 | About 24 |
| December 20 | 5 | 5 | About 48 |
Two cautions. The CLUE calendar’s last puzzle is harder than the daily ones, so leave a longer sitting for December 24. And The Killer Checked In includes a mandatory shortlist checkpoint at Door 16, so do not rush past it when catching up. If a calendar arrives before December 1, leave it closed: the point of these formats is the wait.
Can a group of four share one calendar?
Yes, with a plan. One calendar is one story, so the trick is to spread the jobs. Rotate a “door keeper” each day, let one person keep the notes and let another read the clue aloud. The CLUE calendar is the natural choice: Hasbro lists it for 1 or more players, Board Game Oracle gives 1 to 6 and Room Escape Artist recommends 1 to 3, so four is workable but the cards are small. For larger crowds, a one-night party kit works better; see our Christmas murder mystery games by group size.
Which calendars can you play again or pass on?
Almost none. The Hasbro instructions say the CLUE calendar can only be played once, because some puzzles ask you to fold, cut and write on parts, though the six tokens work in other CLUE games. The three books are write-in formats, so they are single use once you mark them. If you want to share a book, solve in pencil, photocopy the grid pages before you start or keep your answers on a separate sheet. A calendar is a December ritual rather than a keepsake, which is fine; if you want something to lend, a boxed game is the better buy.
How to avoid spoilers and stay on track
- Agree on a time. A calendar works best when it lands in the same slot every day, such as after dinner or with a morning coffee.
- Keep one notes sheet. The final puzzle of the CLUE calendar uses the whole story, and the register in The Killer Checked In rewards a neat log of what you crossed out and why.
- Do not peek at the back. The logic book prints worked solutions at the end, so keep it out of reach of a curious sibling.
- Use a pencil first. Pencil marks are easy to fix when a deduction goes wrong. If you want a refresher on method, read how to solve a murder mystery.
Buying one as a gift
A calendar is an easy gift if you match it to the solver. Check the stated age before you order, remember that most of these formats are single use and order early in November so that the book or box arrives before December 1. If you are choosing a gift rather than a game for your own table, ChooseTheGift ranks adult advent calendars by recipient. For a bigger evening instead of a daily ritual, see our best cold case games and the broader Escape Rooms at Home topic.
Key facts
- Hasbro's CLUE Advent Calendar: Secrets Under Snowfall holds a calendar, 77 cards, 6 character tokens, a cipher, an envelope, a surprise item, a storybook and a game guide; it is listed for 1 or more players aged 10 and up and can only be played once, because some puzzles ask you to fold, cut and write on components.Hasbro, official instructions, 2025
- Room Escape Artist describes one small logic puzzle a day, each of a different style, at about 10 minutes daily, followed by a final deduction puzzle that draws on the whole story and has no hints; the reviewer lists a team size of 1+ and recommends 1 to 3.Room Escape Artist review of the CLUE Advent Calendar, 2025
- Board Game Oracle lists the CLUE Advent Calendar: Secrets Under Snowfall as a 2025 Hasbro game for 1 to 6 players aged 10 and up.Board Game Oracle, 2025
- Murder by Christmas: 25 Days to Solve the Crime is a 224-page paperback from Michael O'Mara Books US, published on October 14, 2025, in which a new clue about a village resident arrives each day from December 1 and 25 puzzles lead to the killer of Mr. Holly.MIT Press Bookstore listing and British Library shop description of the UK edition, 2025
How we selected these games
We started from the murder mystery and detective advent calendars listed as in stock and sold as new on Amazon.com on November 4, 2026, and kept those that run for 24 or 25 days, tell one case and state what you get each day. We compared them on what can be checked: the number of doors or puzzles, the daily time, the player count, the age, the difficulty where a publisher gives one, whether the box can be reused and what you need to play. Sources were the Hasbro instructions, a published review, retailer and publisher listings and the product descriptions. We kept one calendar per format, and we left out calendars that were drinking games, sold only as a download, written in another language or too thinly described to check. We did not play these calendars: the two self-published books are described from their listings alone, and we say where a detail is not stated. Commissions play no part in which calendars we include or in their order.
FAQ
What is a murder mystery advent calendar?
It swaps the chocolate for evidence. Each day from December 1 you open a door or turn a page and get one clue or puzzle, and the answers add up to a single whodunit. Most end with an accusation on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day.
Which murder mystery advent calendar is best for a group of 4?
The CLUE Advent Calendar is the easiest to share: Hasbro lists it for 1 or more players and Board Game Oracle for 1 to 6, though Room Escape Artist suggests 1 to 3. Four people can play it by passing the cards around and rotating who opens the door each day.
How long does a murder mystery advent calendar take each day?
Room Escape Artist timed the CLUE calendar at about 10 minutes a day. The two puzzle books do not state a time: the logic book sets two puzzles a day and calls them hard, so plan on longer, while a story-led book is quicker to read than to solve.
Can you play a murder mystery advent calendar in one night?
Usually yes, but it spoils the point. The CLUE calendar is built so that each solved puzzle tells you which door to open next, which makes it easy to binge in order. A written book has no such lock, so agree with your group where to stop each night.
Are murder mystery advent calendars suitable for children?
Check the age on each product. Hasbro lists the CLUE calendar for ages 10 and up, and the logic-puzzle book is written for adults and teens. The other two books do not state an age, so read a sample page before giving one to a younger reader.
What if I start a murder mystery advent calendar after December 1?
Start the day it arrives and open two doors a day until you catch up. The story depends on the order of the doors, not on the date. Our start-date table below shows how many doors a day each late start needs.
Sources
- Hasbro: CLUE Advent Calendar, Secrets Under Snowfall (official instructions)
- Room Escape Artist: Hasbro CLUE Advent Calendar, Secrets Under Snowfall review
- Board Game Oracle: CLUE Advent Calendar, Secrets Under Snowfall
- MIT Press Bookstore: Murder by Christmas, 25 Days to Solve the Crime (Michael O'Mara Books US)
- British Library shop: Murder by Christmas, 25 Puzzles to Solve the Crime (UK edition description)
